Nov 292022

The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead! is the sixteenth studio album by American thrash metal band Megadeth, released on September 2, 2022, on frontman Dave Mustaine’s Tradecraft label via Universal. It is the first Megadeth album to feature drummer Dirk Verbeuren, the second Megadeth album to feature guitarist Kiko Loureiro, and their first studio album in six years since Dystopia (2016), marking the longest gap between two studio albums in the band’s career. The album has been in production for more than two years.

In June 2019, the band announced the cancellation of then-upcoming shows, as Mustaine had been diagnosed with throat cancer; Despite Mustaine’s illness, the band vowed to continue working on the album. The band re-entered the studio in mid-2020 to resume recording their new album, by now tentatively planned for release in 2021. Founding bassist David Ellefson bass parts were re-recorded by Testament bassist Steve Di Giorgio.

The album opens with the title track “The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!” which starts off eerie and takes on full power with a chunky guitar riff that is accentuated by flaring guitar tid-bits, has its fair share of surprises that Mustaine drops during the interlude before catching back to where the song gets left. An eclectic guitar solo follows the finishing of the song in style. What a great start to the album. Next up things get heavy with “Life In Hell”, which is as traditional as Megadeth gets. The tempo is on the uptick and the sustained chords are rugged, the vocal delivery changes as  it brings forth more engagement with the listener, and the rampant drum rolls finish the song tight.

The intro for “Night Stalkers” sets off a haunting dystopian apocalyptic ambience which is brought forward, multiplied with maddening guitar riffs and thus sets off the heaviest song of the album, with rapper Ice-T collaborating on the song which is about the 160th Battalion with the U.S. Army, and it’s all the black-ops helicopters that go in at night. The acoustic guitar interlude followed by rumbling bass brings in character and brings about punching guitar riffs as the song approaches its end.  According to Mustaine, “Dogs of Chernobyl” is not about the war in Ukraine, but “is a love song”. Prior to the album’s production, Mustaine had been diagnosed with throat cancer. He revealed that his treating radiologist contributed “a couple of phrases and some information about the radiation poisoning when everyone got sick at Chernobyl” to the song’s lyrics. The song is packed with high energy, blast beats paired with guitar chugs, blitzing guitar solos, power lyrics and an ambiance set over Ukrainian voice overs.

Continue reading »

Nov 232022

The mysterious gothic metallers Walk in Darkness are finally here with their highly anticipated fourth album, the concept album “Leaves Rolling in Time”. The album features Nicoletta Rosellini (Kalidia) on vocals and the artwork was created by Carlos Fides (Evergrey, Almah). 

Walk in Darkness constantly evolves, although it has originally approached the gothic metal genre, it diverged from it to more original and unpredictable paths following the emtional and psychedelic component of music. Faceless musicians, among distant and sometimes indefinite guitar arpeggios that blend with distorted and aggressive rhythms and screaming, melancholic and psychedelic solos, with a few notes pushed deep into the soul.

WID’s songs have surreal atmospheres and they drag the listener to another dimension as in a psychedelic and schamanic journey through time, a dreamlike journey but only in appearance because the dream is lucid and plausible.

Continue reading »

Nov 192022

Coming from their Live “Beheaded in Vain” album, Broken Flesh absolutely are crushing death metal. Featuring their all-new vocalist, Jake Martin, “Buried Alive” has never sounded so brutal!

Recorded live in OKC, “Beheaded in Vain” is a live wrecking ball of brutal death metal. With the concert captured for blu-ray, this is just a sample of what’s to come!

“Beheaded in Vain” arrives December 2nd.

Continue reading »

Nov 192022

Well this year we really tried to out do ourselves! A Full Christmas music release and our first full official Christmas release from Roxx Records and NoLifeTilMetal Records

And this thing features KILLER new Music from The Brave and Latter Reign! In fact it features 4 new tracks from Latter Reign and 2 new tracks from The Brave!

If that is not enough for you, we have a brand new track from Puddleglum included here also. We also have a killer track from legendary East Coast Rockers MASS

In addition to that we included the classic Deliverance track ‘Silent Night’ (remastered) and a brand new soon to be classic track from BRIDE off of their just released album ‘Christmas’ and that is just the first half of the album! 

The second half of what is destined to be a Classic Christmas album for years to come, includes all the original Christmas tunes we released through the years on our annual Black Friday give away discs! Including tracks from Three Kings (previously only available on the Candy Cane EP 7″) as well as tracks from Chris ManningBioGenesisAfterWinterRainforceGrave Robber and The Sacrificed!

Continue reading »

Nov 192022

Finnish cinematic metal Icons Dark Sarah – feat. former Amberian Dawn singer Heidi Parviainen have released a new single ‘Warning Sign’ which appears on their fifth studio album “Attack Of Orym” out on January 27th, 2023.  

‘Warning Sign’ is a powerful song with a message to fight back the ones who wish to harm you. In the album storyline the protagonist Luna chooses a powerful weapon of bewitched flowers to fight against Orym, the villain of the story.”.

The music video can be watched below.

New album, New story: “Darkness dwells upon Grim. Luna has fallen under the spell of Svefnthorn, the sleep-inducing thorn cast by Malevolent the Orb. Years go by under the massive darkness that swirls in the sky. The worst, however, is only ahead. In the depth of the forest, word of the Monster’s passing has reached Orym, the king of the forest folk. The gate is now open, and Orym and his troops launch their attack.” – New in the line-up is keyboarder Henrik Airaksinen.

Continue reading »